Mixing PNR, SFR and Romantasy

Now there is a term, fairly new to me, to describe what I want to write and read right now. Low Angst. State of the world definitely plays a part. State of me? Maybe. Lots of changes in my life, none bad, but still feel a bit like a whirlwind swept through! All three daughters got new and better jobs in the past year, two are now in serious relationships, which add new people to our family.

I’m writing low angst at the moment. Safe havens. That’s where I’m at, mentally! The serial on my newsletter, Eloped with a Pard? Low Angst.
My upcoming release, Lover from Vale Lorraine is a gentle romantasy. Dara finds home, love, and magic in a world no one quite understands. Also I’m uploading this story on Tuesday, so it will be live by next weekend!
This is a portal fantasy set in our modern world. In fact, it is set in the same world as all my paranormals. I used to use the series title Yet Another Apocalypse, but I have rearranged things. The series is now called Magical Beginnings.

In my paranormal books there are magical beings, like shifters and vampires. There are also magical acts, like rituals, that bring about change. In Enchanted Bonds, my magical people keep a space demon from another dimension from destroying Earth–and one of my vampire heroes claims her spaceship! Then we move on to the world of Her Halloween Vampire, a romance in which magical people begin to gather in safe havens. Next, Lover from Vale Lorraine, in which the dimensional rift that has been touching Earth on and off for years becomes an anomaly in the sky which scientists can’t explain. Rumors and conspiracy theories abound. Magical people continue to build safe havens. Eventually, the vampire clan with the spaceship has a story! And there will be more gentle romances–after all, Dara has two sisters!

+***+

Back to SFR for Christmas with an older couple romance, Far Stars Love, a prequel. My hero, a genius, runs away from the Third Reich to avoid building weapons to kill innocents. Wil lives a humble life on the prairies of Canada. He builds his dream rocket and enters space, knowing it is a one way trip.

A space trader clan rescues him and he starts a new life.An amalgam, an intelligent animal with cyborg appliances, worries him. He thinks it’s in pain and gets Veelyn, the Flora and Fauna Regulations officer, and a widow with children. Together they find and foil a cruel plot and ultimately save the ship, while falling in love.

Leave a comment